Eugene

I haven’t posted in a while, because while I am still drawing for 5+ hours a day, I just haven’t done anything I think that’s worth posting on the blog. Practice. All practice and experiments and learning. Schoolism.com is helping a ton, and I got published in Clubhouse Magazine again so that’s fun.

So actually, I have this step-by step thing again, one that I haven’t done in awhile. My friends keep asking for one so here you go Luke and Evelyn.

Step 1: Since I’m just playing around with Gary Locke’s original artwork, I figure I should just go ahead and start with the gesture. Playing around with why Gary made the energy the way he did.

 

1

2

Step 3: Height chart. A realistic human is 6-8 heads tall, heroes in comic books are always 8. I choose 8 just because I think Eugene is tall.

3

Step 4: Sketch in some of the features. Not satisfied.

4

Step 5: Contemplating what’s wrong. Didn’t realize it was the hair.

5

Step 6: Aha, the hair! Flatten the top of it.

6

Step 7: Figure out that I want the hands a little different.

 

8

Step 8: Plotting features. Definitely liking it.

9

Step 9: I’m satisfied and begin to jot down all the things that need to be done in the coloring process, begin color and sphere tests, and begin a new round of water and Spotify playlists.

10

Step 10: Nope, it’s not an alien! It’s what’s known as under lighting. Schoolism rocks.

 

11

Step 11: Disney artist Sam Nielson said in his class that if you’re not confident about your lighting, just keep pressing on anyway. I wasn’t confident at this point at all and was thinking of scrapping the lighting and starting over, however, I’ve felt like that on all of my paintings. It takes mental discipline to keep going.

12

Step 12: Nope, still not an alien! There are color belts in the skin, and I’m painting the red, yellow, and blue color belts. I wasn’t taught that there was a green one, but I keep seeing it in the arms and hands so I put it in.

13

14

Step 13: Look better? At this point I had more confidence in the piece so it was easier to keep going. Between some minor edits, I added veins and stuff to give it a better look.

15

Step 14: I go ahead and add the key lighting to the pants and vest, adding texture also.

 

16

Step 15: I create one more sphere test for the hair and then take a whack at it. After this, I don’t make any more sphere tests for the small things such as belt, eyes, glasses, wristwatch, shoes, and of course the invention he is holding.

 

17

Step 16: Belt, glasses, eyes, eyebrows, Egghead (the invention), shoes, and I forget the watch until later.

18

Step 17: I bring those lines back because I like the look they give. I spend a lot of time experimenting with what to do with them.

 

19

Step 18: I start cleaning up, blurring up the lines that aren’t where I want the viewer to focus.

 

20

Step 19: No, it’s NOT an alien! This is known as color richness.

 

21

Step 20: I add the black dots that I tried doing one other time. IDK, I think it adds visual /interest.

as 22

23

20-something: As I make this blog post, I remember that Gary Locke told me to put more contrast where I want the viewer to focus, so I add that in real quick as I’m explaining Step 19. 🙂 It’s never quite done, is it?

24

 

Eugene.png

So, there we go. I like the sketchy lines, I probably won’t always do that but there’s always some experiment to be done, right?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Eugene

Leave a Comment

